Weekly Pics: 15th – 21st August

After some spur of the moment photography last week, I’m going for more of a throwback affair this time around.

I’ve been a bit of a hermit this week and hardly left the house. Β Bad, I know, but now that the Olympics has sadly finished, I’ve got lots of exciting opportunities ahead of me.

This week’s photographs were taken almost 8 months ago now.

I was up in Cumbria for a few days visiting my best friend before we moved back to uni for our 2nd semester. Β Whilst I was there we took a trip to Dalton Zoo.

Now, my feelings about zoos are always fairly mixed.

Although I do enjoy seeing all these animals that I’d probably never have the opportunity to see otherwise, I hate the idea of them being taken away from their natural habitats just for the sake of giving people something to gawk at. Β The treatment of animals in zoos can sometimes be questionable (not to say that they’re all badly looked after because I know for the most part that they’re not), and there is always a debate about the pros and cons of keeping them in captivity.

I digress.

Despite my mixed feelings, I still had a brilliant time at Dalton zoo (even if the free-roaming birds freaked me out) and took a fair few photos that I’m pretty happy with.

Enjoy!

Observation

Feathers

Hidden

Distant

Queen of Hearts

Recharge

Caged

Leave a Reply

