Tis The Season

1The first doors of the advent calendar were opened this morning which can only mean that its December once again.

I never get bored of this time of the year.  There’s so much about the holiday season to enjoy with all the music, films and food.  Oh, and the presents too.

This year is the first time since 2012 that I’ll be at home in the weeks leading up to Christmas, so I’m determined to celebrate by being more festive than ever.  When I was at university I felt detached from the spirit of the season, mainly because I missed out on so many of the little things.  Decorating the tree, making mince pies, spending time with the family…it took being away from it all to realise how much it meant to me.

Today is hardly the first day I’ve gotten excited about Christmas, after all I haven’t been able to get it out of my head for the past month, but I feel now is the acceptable time to start celebrating publicly.  This year that extends to my blog.

I have set myself the aim of releasing new content every day from now until Christmas.  I already have a number of posts lined up, including several collaborations with some fellow bloggers and a selection of my own festive writing.  I’ve never attempted anything like this before so I’m not 100% certain it will work out perfectly but I’m determined to do the best that I can.  This blog has become such an important part of my life in the last few months and where better to share my OTT love of Christmas than on here?!

I don’t really have much else to say today apart from that.  This year has had it’s great ups and downs so to finally be in the countdown to Christmas is a great relief, especially with things starting to turn for the better.  The holidays always put a smile on my face, and I hope that that will never change.  Even though it’s sometimes hard, I know that if I think positively then this year will be one of the best Christmases yet.

I can’t wait to share it all with you guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

