Being Thankful

13Christmas and New Year are often looked upon as the time of the year to be thankful for what we have.  Some of us are grateful for some an event that’s happened to us this year, others more so for the people we’re surrounded by on a regular basis.

2016 has been a tremendously up-and-down experience for me.  Turning 21 and graduating with a First have definitely been some of my highs, but moving away from my best friends and struggling to find work have given me some incredible lows.  Following the success of my first ever piece of freelance work this weekend, I wanted to consider what I’m most thankful for this year.  The answer came to me quite quickly.

Having been unemployed for over 6 months now, I realised that I am extremely thankful for the support network that I have around me which keeps me positive and afloat.  Being a Creative Writing graduate comes with an understanding that a future career will require a lot of hard work to start up, and that it may never turn into what you want it to.  As I’ve said before, a degree in the arts does not offer you the same structure that an education or similar degree will come graduation, but there is no other course that I would have wanted to do at university.  My parents never stopped me from going down this path, and for that I’m extremely grateful.  Even now after months of 0 success in finding work they’re still there helping me look for appropriate jobs and supporting me without any kind of judgement or negativity.

I always try to tell myself how lucky I am to have what I have, because in another life I could easily be struggling so much more than I already am.  If my parents weren’t as kind and dependable as they are then I could be homeless right now.  That’s a bit of an extreme, I know, but there are many people out there whose parents expect them to be able to stand on their own two feet in the adult world without any help by the time they’re my age.  I’m one of the lucky ones!

I have a lot of hopes for 2017 being a better year, and now that I’ve completed my first piece of professional work I feel like the ball is finally rolling.  By this time next year, I should be in a writing job that I’m happy with and that can help me earn the money I need to live independently once again.  12 months is both a long time and no time at all.  It certainly doesn’t feel that long ago that it was last Christmas, and here we are now.

When I wake up Christmas morning and enjoy all the presents, food, and everything else that makes the holidays so enjoyable, I know I’ll be extra grateful to be spending it with the family that has shown me all the support in the world.

 

One thought on “Being Thankful

Leave a Reply

