Dreams of Christmas Future

16.pngI can only go on for so long denying I’m an adult and all the baggage that comes with that, especially now that I’m a graduate.  For so long I thought of my age in relation to education and the various steps through it – high school to sixth form to university.  Now that that’s all behind me, the only thing that’s ahead of me is the real world.

A lot of the time that can be quite a scary thing.  It means that I’m getting older, having to worry a lot more about money, etc.  Sometimes, though, it can be quite nice, particularly around this time of the year

As I’ve said before, spending time with family is one of the most important parts of the holiday season, if not the top priority.  Although I’m only 21 and single, I do tend to think about meeting someone, getting married and (eventually) having kids with them quite often.  This year it’s been on mind most of the time, and I’m not really sure why.  I’m not that great around children (I’ve never had any experience being around anyone that young for more than an hour or so), but I’ve surprised myself by how broody I’ve been towards them behind closed doors.  I don’t know if it’s just that I watch several vloggers on YouTube that have kids, but wanting to have children is something that feels more of a reality than it did in the past.

This is not me saying I want kids now.  Not even close.  Like I said,  I’m not even in a relationship, the thought of having a child now ticks all the wrong boxes.  When I think about myself in 10/15 years time, however, it’s definitely something that I’m starting to see in my life.  It’s hard to put it into words, but for me this is a massive change from how I was a few years ago.  Just shows I’m growing old, eh?

Meeting a guy is definitely up there on the top of my list, although I’m not actively looking for someone.  I’ve dealt with enough trouble online that I’m happy to just wait for something to develop naturally, but hopefully that won’t be too far in the future.  I have a life plan that I’m 50/50 in terms of following (because it’s not the end of the world if things haven’t happened by a certain age), and ideally I’d like to be married by the time I’m 30, and with kids by 35.  To have a solid family unit by my mid-30s would be great, because it means in 15 years times I’ll be having the Christmases that I’ve started dreaming about for the last few months.

Buying loads of presents for the children.  Seeing the excitement when they open them.  Acting the part of Santa Claus.  Putting up the Christmas tree with my husband and dancing around to the classics.  The list of things that I think about doing in the future seems endless.

I know this is all a long way away and I’m getting a little ahead of myself, but this was really on my mind today and I felt like opening up with you all.  Christmas is such a special time of year and I can’t wait to celebrate it with a family of my own.

*header image taken by David Nagy at https://www.flickr.com/photos/ndave/

Leave a Reply

