A Christmas Wish Come True

18Ever since the summer before I started university I’ve been worrying about my future.  While I was studying at Edge Hill, I tried to push the fear to the back of my mind because I was worried it would get the better of me and ruin the incredible experience that was being at university.  Throughout the whole of my third and final year, the pressure of what I was going to do with my life was overwhelming, and I felt like I was about to go out into the world with no direction whatsoever.

For six months I’ve been hopelessly looking for employment with no luck, but now things are changing.

Being the great time of year that it is, I always find that great things happen around Christmas, and now it’s been proven!  I touched on this a few posts ago, that last weekend I completed my first piece of freelance work for a holiday company.  It’s something that seemed like an impossible dream a few months ago, but just yesterday I was given more work to do over this next week.  It still doesn’t feel real.

Although freelancing isn’t my dream forever, to have been offered the chance to do paid work in a field that my degree has given me a relative amount of skill in is amazing.  To be given positive feedback on that work and to receive more as a result of that is phenomenal.

For a long time during the last year or so at university I felt like writing was no longer for me.  The stress and pressure of everything felt too much and I’d lost the passion that had pushed me to study that course in the first place.  Having these last six months to rediscover myself, though, has been exactly what I needed.  2017 feels like it’s gonna be a great year now thanks to this.

The only issue with this new work coming in is that I may not be able to post everything that I’d planned on releasing this month.  My collaborations with Give It Some Geek and Holly Quills and Ivy will still go up as planned, as well as my final weekly photos posts, however the rest will be dependent on what stage I’m at with my work.  Ideally, I’d complete my first blogmas because I’ve made it so far already, but I’m just going to have to take it day by day at the moment.  It’s worth it though to finally be bringing in some money, and to be able to build a professional portfolio of work.

With just a week left until Christmas (how?!), I’m in the best mood that I’ve been in since I finished university, and I hope that these high spirits continue well into the new year.  2016 hasn’t been great, so here’s to a bright and happy 2017!

Leave a Reply

