Happy New Year!

Welcome to my first blog post of 2017!

What better way to kick off the new year than to talk about what so many people will be thinking about today – resolutions.  I’m not normally one to make a big deal about the whole ‘new year, new me’ thing, but I’ve had a couple of things in mind that I’m hopeful about for 2017.

Let’s just hope that I can stick to them.

Make Headway on a Script

Since I graduated last Summer I haven’t made any progress on any scripts, mainly because I felt I needed a break from writing to put the stress of university behind me.  While I was on the course, script-writing was my favourite module, and the creative pieces that I wrote for it in second and third year were some of my strongest.

One of my biggest regrets from university is not writing a play for my dissertation, because I have an idea that has been with me for a long time which I think is best suited for the stage.  I’m hoping to make up for that this year by getting a fair amount of it down on paper, even if the draft isn’t that polished.  If I were ever to go down a commercial path for my own creative writing, this is the route I would want to take.

Shed a Few Pounds

It’s a massive cliché, and I know so few people who say this actually end up sticking to it, but I’m hoping to lose a fair bit of weight in 2017.  In the last few years I’ve been on quite a bit of a rollercoaster with my body size, and 2016 was a definite downfall for me.  I let stress get on top of me at the beginning of the year and that had a large effect on the months to come.

I know that I’m capable of losing weight – I managed it two years ago.  I’ve got everything that I need to get back to a size that I’d be satisfied with, I just need to manage my life more effectively than I did at the end of my degree.  Hopefully by this time next year I’ll be a lot happier with the body that I’ve got.

Maintain This Blog

If you’d have told me this time last year that I’d have a four and a half month old blog with close to 100 posts, I wouldn’t have believed it.  I’m incredibly proud of what I managed to achieve with this site at the tail-end of 2016, and I have faith that 2017 will be an even better year for it.

I’ve decided that my posts will come at more regular, spaced-out intervals to give my blog more structure and allow me the time I need to focus on my freelance work.  I’m hoping for an average of two posts a week, although that may alter slightly depending on the content.  If I can maintain that for the entirety of the year then I’ll be delighted.  I’ve really enjoyed having this online space to talk about the things that I love.

*

So those are my resolutions for the year.  We’ll see if I manage to stick to all of them (or at least one of them) over the course of 2017, but right now I’m feeling pretty positive.  Perhaps that should be another resolution – being more upbeat!

Have any of you made any resolutions for the new year?

One thought on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

