To Buy or Not to Buy…?

IMG_5893 (2).JPGIt’s launch day for the Nintendo Switch and thousands of consoles are being shipped all around the world. As a major fan of Nintendo – I’ve owned every console the company has produced since he Gameboy Advance – it has certainly crossed my mind about whether or not to buy a Switch for myself on its first day of sale. It would be the first console that I’ve ever purchased on launch, and naturally, as if with any major purchase, there’s a great list of pros and cons running through my mind.

So, I figured why not share them on here.

If anyone else out there is conflicted over whether to buy the Nintendo Switch now rather than later (or at all), then perhaps this post will help you out!

CON – Launch Titles

The sparse range of launch titles is something that has been talked about more than most things when it comes to the Switch. It’s not that the games being released on the first day aren’t great – Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild has a 98% approval rating on Metacritic based on 64 reviews – but if they’re not what you’re into then purchasing the console right now seems pointless.

Super Mario Odyssey, the game that I’m most excited for, isn’t out until the holiday season and it’s difficult to know whether the titles released before then will be worth buying. I’ve never played a Zelda game before, and I grew bored of the original Splatoon game on the Wii U quite quickly. That isn’t to say that I wouldn’t enjoy the games when they’re respectively released on the Switch, but it’s more of a risk than if Mario and Animal Crossing titles were being brought out close to launch.

Another question to consider as well with the launch titles is how long they’re likely to last. Breath of the Wild, the major game on release day, looks likely to rack up many hours of game time due to the amount of content available. Is that going to be closer to 50 hours of gameplay, or more like 200? The more time the launch titles take to play, the less of a wait there is between the release of new games.

PRO – Trade-In Prices

£280 is a lot of money to spend all at once. While I have no issues with the price – it is a video game console after all – my financial situation isn’t the greatest right now. Add on to that an average of £50 per game and the bill for what I want is rising unbelievably high. Assuming that no major changes happen in my life over the next half a year or so, paying out so much for the Switch will always be an issue, therefore sacrifices have to be made. As painful as it is, selling my old games and Wii U console is probably the best way to go.

I’m certain that plenty of people have had the same thought. The consoles go for around £60, plus some of the popular games can still sell for over £15. Depending on how much you have to sell, you can cut off a significant chunk of the Switch price with those trade-ins.

For now, at least.

Once the Switch goes on sale and the Wii U truly becomes a dead console, there is a great risk of the asking prices for the old console and games to go down. Waiting until the holiday season to sell my stuff could mean I only get half as much for it as I would do now. What’s more, I’m not going to trade it in today and go without a home console for six months.

If I already have it in my head that I’m going to sell everything, and I know that it’s going to make a big difference to how much I have to pay for the Switch, then why wait?

CON – Teething Problems

It’s nothing new for a console to have some issues when it’s first released – this stuff happens. Reports have already come in about connectivity problems with the left joy-con remote, and there has been plenty of talk about the lack of content like the Internet and Netflix on the Switch. Sure enough, these issues will be dealt with, but how long will that take?

Anyone buying a console on launch day essentially has to accept that they may encounter a few bumps over the first few weeks. Nintendo will undoubtedly try and respond to any problems as quickly as possible, but that can sometimes be easier said than done. Just think about how long it took Niantic to deal with the server issues that sprung up when the mobile game was released. The improvement patches may not be around for some time.

PRO –

 

CON – No Bundles

 

PRO – It’s Inevitable

 

I’m not sure whether anybody else has the same mindset, but I know for a fact that at some point in time I’ll own a Nintendo Switch. My love for the company and its franchises, combined with the fact that I think the Switch looks like a pretty great console, means that my purchase of it is inevitable. So with that in mind, why put off buying it when I’m already so hyped for it.

The pricing – no matter how fair you consider it to be – will always be an issue, and by buying it now I can get accustomed to the controls and the many features of the console before the games I’m truly excited for are released. In a month and a half, the updated version of Mario Kart is coming out and I’ve got to get in as much practice as I can to retain my winning streak amongst my friends. Plus, the online service is currently free for Nintendo Switch owners until the Autumn, meaning that buying the console now does come with advantages.

In half a year’s time when Super Mario Odyssey is on the horizon and the need for a Switch becomes a certainty, I’ll still be holding back over pretty much the same reasons as I am now. If I make the purchase now, surely by that time the memory of how much I had to pay for it will be a distant memory.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I’v been hyped about the Switch since it was first titled the NX. There is nothing that’s going to stop me from buying it, and unfortunately, once I’ve got an idea in my head I tend to do it.

Although for me it essentially feels as though there’s only one serious game out right now, that still hasn’t put me off wanting to play it. Ever since I found that the Breath of the Wild was going to be a launch title, I started to actually get excited about the thought of playing my first Legend of Zelda game. Even though it’s also available on the Wii U, buying it for that console seems pointless when I know I’ll be buying a Switch eventually anyway.

If I weren’t such a fan of Nintendo, then I probably wouldn’t be as conflicted as I have been trying to decide what to do. It seems as though there’s been a lot more negativity in the media surrounding the Switch than positivity, but then that’s no surprise. Nintendo really needs their new console to be a success after the poor performance of the Wii U, so everyone’s going to be quick to point out the bad points to try and justify the company’s supposed downfall.

While I do admittedly want to buy the Switch for Super Mario Odyssey, this is the first console that I’ve been enthusiastic about purchasing without it being for the sake of a game. I only bought the 3DS because of Animal Crossing: New Leaf, and the Wii U for Super Mario 3D World. Yes, I came to think very highly of both consoles, but that was only after I’d owned them for several months. I’m already in love with the Switch.

At the end of the day, I just have to go with my gut and be happy with whatever decision I make. If I buy it now, let’s hope that I enjoy Zelda, otherwise there may be a bit of an issue. If I don’t, then I’ll just have to avoid seeing anyone making mention of the console and try to live in blissful ignorance. That won’t be too hard, right…?

Anyway, I hope that this post has helped if you’ve been having any trouble deciding what to do. A lot of things I’ve seen online have been very one-sided in either direction, so it’s good to discuss both the pros and cons of the situation.

Happy gaming!

Leave a Reply

