Collaboration: Guilty Pleasures

Musical MarchFor our second collaboration this month, we thought we’d make things a little bit cheesy by sharing with you our favourite guilty pleasure songs. We all have those tracks that we love to listen to, but we’re afraid of letting everyone else know because it doesn’t fit with our usual music tastes, or its widely regarded as being extremely cheesy. No matter what others may think, though, they’re the songs that make us feel happy (or sad if it’s a ballad). When you’re alone in your room belting them out to your heart’s content, you feel like you’re the only one in the world anyway.

A Writer in Sight

IMG_7306My music taste can be so camp sometimes that it’s hard to know what I’d pick out as a guilty pleasure. Normally when I listen to music I’m either looking for something slow and emotional or upbeat and fun, and it’s the latter category that all my songs for this week come from. In my opinion, it’s those ones that are the best guilty pleasures – all bubblegum-pop and proud of it. Admittedly I’d have no shame dancing along to these tracks at the party, but for the sake of this post we’ll pretend I still have some dignity left.

Aserejé (The Ketchup Song) – Las Ketchup

A Writer In Sight (3)You may not know what they’re singing, but there’s a good chance you’re very familiar with the ‘Spanglish’ hit Aserejé (aka the Ketchup Song) if you grew up in the noughties. The infectious hit reached number 1 in many countries around the world, including in the UK where it sold in excess of 600,000 copies. Not only was the song notorious for it’s catchy beat, but it was also accompanied by a rather simple yet enjoyable dance that you couldn’t stop yourself from doing every time you heard it.

Even though it’s been fifteen years since the single was first released, I still listen to it fairly regularly without getting bored. If you listen to it without watching the music video then it feels a little less cheesy, although the fact that I sometimes do the dance when I’m walking around the house ramps up the cringe factor a great deal higher. You can expect this to be on any party playlist I create, even if there’s no alcohol involved. It’s a great way of seeing who still remembers their moves from the school discos over a decade ago.

Swagger Jagger – Cher Lloyd

A Writer In Sight (2)I have to point out before I talk about this song that Cher Lloyd is actually a very credible artist and her music is some of my favourite, but you can’t deny that the debut single she dropped back in 2011 was one that you didn’t want to admit you enjoyed. I certainly remember everyone around me criticising it while I silently agreed and acted like I didn’t already know all the lyrics to the song.

At the time it was released, the song was massively popular amongst the online troll community, and it raked up more dislikes than likes on YouTube to begin with. However, as with any ‘marmite’ song like this, the publicity and sheer-cringiness of the track propelled it to the top of the UK charts to become Cher Lloyd’s only number one single to date.

You can be sure that if I ever play this song when I’m alone then I’ll be mouthing along to it with plenty of attitude. That’s what I love so much about it. Even though it’s bratty and has a terrible title, it’s still bold and empowering to some extent, and it’s the closest thing I have to rap when I’m not listening to Nicki Minaj. If you’ve got a problem with that then clearly “you’re a hater – just let it go”.

Barbie Girl – Aqua

A Writer In Sight (1)If you’re looking for a cheesy song, it’s harder to find something greater than Aqua’s crude take on popular childhood doll Barbie. The sickly-sweet vocals and disgustingly upbeat tone of the song is the epitome of bubblegum-pop and it’s what everyone in the ninteties wanted to hear apparently – it’s sold over 1.8 million copies in the UK alone. Very few singles have sold better than that in this country, but the success is unsurprising really. It’s insanely catchy, and the reference to popular culture is so controversial that it had everyone talking about it.

Barbie Girl will always rank as my favourite guilty pleasure, no matter what songs may crop up in the future. It’s camp, nostalgic, and hearing it always makes me laugh at how oblivious I was to the lyrics when I was younger. The song also makes for the perfect duet whenever you’re with your friends, although if you’re with me then you’ll have a hard task of convincing me not to be ‘Barbie’.

Give It Some Geek

SarahIs it even possible for me to have a guilty pleasures list? 90% of the stuff I listen to is cheesy, old or widely accepted as cringe-worthy.  However, I have managed to hunt down three songs that I absolutely love but feel a little awkward admitting out loud. They sum up my music taste pretty well, even if they are a little on the embarrassing side.

You’re Not Me – Marty Bags

Give It Some Geek (3)The song alone isn’t too bad, but the moment I have to say it’s from the Yu-Gi-Oh Movie, my toes curl up. It’s a song that tries hard to be cool by using rock music with an edgy male singer, but that’s why I love it. It’s so cheesy! It’s a little bit lame, but it’s got a great tune, good vocals and plenty of 00’s pizazz.  I would love to be able to relate to the part of the lyrics that say: “…how come the only friends are the ones I pay” – Sheesh, I don’t have that much money to throw around. At the same time, though, it’s a song that speaks of something we can all relate to: don’t try to put yourself in my shoes and tell me how to live my life, because you’re not me. I loved this one so much, particularly the opening build-up of instruments; I had it as my alarm for a while. Then quickly removed it…never put a song you like as your ringtone!

Can’t Be Tamed – Miley Cyrus

Give It Some Geek (2)I think this one hits my guilty pleasures list because it’s an early Miley Cyrus track, plus let’s not forget she spends her time in the music video strutting around as an angry blackbird. Nevertheless, it’s such a good song. I love things you can stomp around to and that make you feel baddass at the same time as looking like a total twonk. Can’t Be Tamed definitely fits that category with its heavy beat and funky vocals. This was the first of Miley’s songs that I really rated, even with its autotune madness. For the majority of the song, though, Miley’s got some strong lungs and she really makes her rapping work.

I’m Still Here – John Rzeznik

Give It Some Geek (1)Hmm. Maybe this is a guilty pleasure because it’s a Disney song? Either way, I always feel a little silly saying it’s one of my favourite songs ever. For those of you who don’t know, John Rzeznik is the lead singer of Goo Goo Dolls, but he breaks into a solo act for the purposes of creating the soundtrack to Disney’s Treasure Planet (a highly underrated film that always gives me shivers). When this song plays in the film, I have goosebumps. Absolute goosebumps. It’s a desperate and lonely song, perfectly executed by Rzeznik through gritty vocals and a phenomenal backing track. A bit like You’re Not Me, it talks about not being understood. It’s about a delinquent who everyone looks down on and no one has faith in, and he just wants someone to be proud of him for who he is. It’s so powerful to listen to. Rzeznik is one of my all-time favourite singers and he wasn’t until I heard him in the Treasure Planet soundtrack.

If you like my taste then you can check out my blog at https://giveitsomegeek.blogspot.co.uk/

Holly Quills and Ivy

HollyHey there! I’m back again to talk more music with you guys. This week we’re focusing on the songs we don’t admit to liking even though we cant help but sing along to every time they come on. These guilty pleasures aren’t for everyone and I’m sure the others won’t approve of some of my choices, but we’re all different. Guilty pleasures are great because they’re individual to everyone. No matter how much they make us we cringe we still love them. On that note, here are my favourite cheesy tracks – don’t judge.

Baby – Justin Bieber

Holly Quills and Ivy (3)Before you say anything, you need to know that I do not like Justin Bieber. I did when he first released music, but not anymore, and I really don’t like his new music much to the surprise of everyone in the world. However, the one song that I like of his is the one nobody can stand – Baby. I think I’ve heard it called one of the most hated songs ever made, but I cant help but love it. It reminds me of being a teenager and learning the rap with my friends and thinking we were great if we could get it. Even now if you play that song I will sing/rap every word with no shame.

Cupid Shuffle – Cupid

Holly Quills and Ivy (2)If you have never heard of this one, then you need to google it before you do anything else. It’s a dance song, kind of like the Cha Cha slide, but nowhere near as popular unfortunately. The first time I heard it was at my first University social and everyone knew the dance – I was amazed! Apparently, it is my university’s thing which is pretty brilliant, because I’ve only ever heard it played at the club on campus. I’m sure James and Sarah can relate to this as we’ve all been there when this song has played and just looked around at everyone dancing along with the song. It’s cringey but I can’t deny that I LOVE IT.

Boom Boom Boom Boom – Vengaboys

Holly Quills and Ivy (1)Last but not least is the song that I’m realising now that I should not have been listening to when it came out! I was 3 when this song was released, but that didn’t stop me singing along to this clearly sexual song whenever I could. I was young and I didn’t realise what it meant. Both the song and the band made up a big part of my childhood and whenever I hear it now I still sing and dance along to it if it comes on, even though I know the context of it. I mean it’s the Vengaboys for Christs sake – they basically were the 90’s.

If you interested in seeing more of my own blog then you can find me at http://www.hollyquillsandivy.co.uk

Leave a Reply

