A Lifetime of Achievements

We all have things that we want to do or achieve in the future, no matter how soon within our lifetime that may be. Having something to work towards or look forward to keeps our lives meaningful, and it’s important to consider what we want from ourselves so many years down the line.

Given I’ve turned twenty-two today, now seems like as good a time as any to think about the things I hope to achieve while I’m still alive and kicking. I didn’t take me too long to think up a list because these things have always been pretty close to the front of my mind, and I’m excited about sharing them with all of you. Even my closest friends will probably be surprised by some of my hopes for the future.

You learn something new every day.

Achievements (Grey).pngI only managed 2/3 of it last year due to heavy snowfall, but I’d love to be able to say that I made it all the way to the top without turning back.

Although I’m not much of a traveller, I hope to add New Zealand, Italy and Japan to the list of countries I’ve visited.

The Charleston, Jive and Waltz are my favourite dance styles and I’d love to learn at least one with my future partner.

My weight has always been in a state of flux and I’d love to get back to (and stay at) the sub-12 stone size I was in 2015.

They’re stressful, but the outcome is totally worth it. I’d love to surprise someone special with a big party just for them.

‘Oh Shenandoah’ performed on the piano is one of my favourite pieces of music and I’d love to be able to play it myself.

I’m incredibly passionate about photography. It’d be amazing to see one of my nature shots in a magazine one day.

This blog has been the gift that keeps on giving, and I hope to keep it going strong for many months to come.

I’m always imagining short films in my head and it’d be great to put my A-Level media studies to good use.

It’s my dream job. As much as I love writing, my ability to come up with new ideas is definitely my strong point.

My degree put me off long-form writing, but I discovered an unexpected interest in crafting short stories.

There’s a story I’ve wanted to tell for several years that I’ve recently discovered is best conveyed on the stage.

Marriage has always been on the cards for me. I just need to find the Prince Charming who will agree to all my wedding demands.

It’s not something I’ll be prepared for anytime soon, but the family unit appeals to me. Two kids – no more or less.

The icing on the cake. There’s nowhere I love more in the world than the Lake District. It’d be a dream to call it my home.

One thought on “A Lifetime of Achievements

  1. Oh James. I put Oh Shenandoah on to give it a listen and then I read the list. Damn those feels. It’s such a lovely list, and I love that you’re well aware you’re gonna be a bridezilla 😉 I’d love to see you doing a waltz at your wedding too; real old fashioned style. As for travelling, hopefully we’re gonna bag Japan but let me know if you ever need an Italy partner because that’s on my bucket list too. I’m sure when the time comes you’ll be a brilliant dad too. And I’ll be fun Aunt Sarah who teaches them terrible habits ;D

    Like

Leave a Reply

